The SCCCSHD Board has 5 members, each elected by the section of the hospital district boundaries in which they live. Each member must also be a consumer of the services offered by the hospital district. They serve for 5 years, then must run for an additional term.


Marian Vigil, Chairperson
Initial election: October of 1988
Ms. Vigil retired from Luna Community College and lives in Springer. She has dedicated her life to community service and continues to be active in the community.

Steve Briggs, Vice Chair
Initial election: December 1997
Mr. Briggs retired from public service as a Director with the NM Department of Transportation and is now working for the Express Ranch. Mr. Briggs is also the Fire Chief for the French Tract Fire Department.

Fred Martinez, Secretary/Treasurer
Initial Election: December 2009
Mr. Martinez is a businessman with his own construction firm. He is also a volunteer Fire Fighter with the French Tract Fire Department.

Nathan Lay, Trustee
Initial Election: December 2011
Mr. Lay is the Chief of Support for the Philmont Scout Ranch Infirmary and is also the Director and Paramedic with the Cimarron Volunteer Ambulance. He is also a Fire Fighter with Philmont Fire Department.

Bruce Jassman, Trustee
Appointed by the County Commission: September 2013
Mr. Jassman is also a businessman with his own gravel and transportation business. He is also a volunteer Fire Fighter with the Moreno Valley Fire Department.